Jeri Kay's World

Just another WordPress.com site

Hash Brown Chayote

leave a comment »

Goodnes Gracious-Hash Brown Chayote is Delish. So delish, my Darlin Dan gobbled it up. This strange looking vegetable is quickly becoming my new BF.
This is what I did. Again, I used only 1 chayote because I didn’t want to waste a precious chayote if I didn’t care for the end result. I peeled the chayote and then I cut it in half lengthwise. I cut out the small inner seed. Then I got out my trusty salad shooter and grated the chayote. I removed the excess moisture by placing the grated chayote in a colander lined with a coffee maker paper liner. 1 chayote=1 1/2 cups grated goodness. I sauteed the chayote in a skillet with a small amount of oil. I added 1/2 of a chopped onion. I let it cook until it started to brown up. I seasoned it with sea salt and freshly ground pepper. When the chayote was ready, I topped it with grated cheddar cheese.  It does shrink up (just like a potato!) or cook down….?
Next time I make this, I will top it with some sliced green onion and bacon bits.
This is really some good stuff…………..
 
Written by jerimartinez5011

September 26, 2008 at 6:53 am

Posted in low carb cooking

Leave a Reply

